The Next.

I do not want to be the next. What does the next mean? The next is the comparison people often associate individuals with to express how far they can possibly go. For example, a basketball player will often be the next Michael Jordan or LeBron James. A writer might be the next J.K. Rowling. A television personality might be the next Oprah. Although a lot of times the comparison is flattery,  I do not want to be compared to anyone other than myself. I often think about this quote in regards to being the next:

“My mother said to me, ‘If you are a soldier, you will become a general. If you are a monk, you will become the Pope.’ Instead, I was a painter, and became Picasso.”

– Pablo Picasso 

I will admit it is cool to hear how people compare you to someone to make sense of what you’re trying to accomplish in life. Please don’t think that is the ceiling to my potential though. My potential is endless. I strive to be the breakthrough. I’m going to create a name for myself in whatever I do and change the whole game up for the better. That’s one of the beauties of life! You can be the breakthrough.

Leave a Reply

