Find Your Comfort: 2 Year Anniversary

11267670_839003982863186_6140267668185583525_n

On this day 2 years ago, I created Find Your Comfort.

I was a junior in college and so eager to change the world. My goal for Find Your Comfort was to simply create a website people could share their inspirations and creative works for a class project. As I continued to reach out to different people to contribute to the website, FYC began to grow. It became a place where people could share positive messages, story, creative works, and simply vent about the adversities they are facing in life. Find Your Comfort was truly amazing. However, I lost sight of the beauty of Find Your Comfort.

I was constantly filled with thoughts of: “how will this make money?” “How is this a sustainable business?” I lost sight of the power of Find Your Comfort due to professionals and successful business people telling me I need to start making money from it and myself listening to them like they control my life. The pressure of trying to market Find Your Comfort also became so stressful. It brought me to a dark place while helping others overcome their dark places. Ironic right? What was once fun became draining and stressful. I was not as passionate about Find Your Comfort. However, I continued to get messages, emails, and anonymous tips of why I should keep going and how FYC saved their lives. In the moment of reading, I was beyond inspired. The following days felt like I never even received those messages. All I could ever focus on was the stress, pressure, and what FYC was lacking.

Eventually, I gave up. I could not even find the courage to tell people I was done with FYC. I was way too frustrated with myself. I considered Find Your Comfort as one of my greatest failures. I put over $5,000 into this project and never came close to that in return. I was drained and defeated.

A couple months later after not thinking about Find Your Comfort, I had a conversation with my mom about possible business ventures I’ve been working on. There was a lot said in the conversation but one thing truly stood out to me. My mom told me, “You created something that literally saved lives. Imagine what would happen without Find Your Comfort. You have to keep it going.” I tried to shrug off what she said but it really hit me. I decided to go to the website and read every single thing on the website. I was actually amazed by the stories people were sharing. It felt like I reconnected with an old friend I haven’t seen in awhile. I felt a feeling I haven’t felt in a long time, there’s a reason why Find Your Comfort was created.

With today being the 2-year anniversary, I am beyond proud of my journey with Find Your Comfort. It has taught me a lot more about myself than anything I have ever done in my life. I’m proud to say I have picked it back up and I’m still working on Find Your Comfort. I have a lot of projects in the works for FYC and I am no longer worried about the money. It’s not about the dollars, its about change. I’m proud of Find Your Comfort and I am looking forward to what the future brings!

 

For everything Find Your Comfort, please check out http://www.FindYourComfort.org

 

Leave a Reply

